Crustless Quiche with Collard Greens and Sweet Onions- a recipe mash-up

I am always looking for new recipes to try and love to mash up old favorites with new ones.  I’m reading a lovely new cookbook called ” A Kitchen in France” about rural French food.  I saw an onion tart recipe that looked good but I did not like the idea of just eating onions on a pie crust.  So I thought why not add eggs and make a quiche? The crust wasn’t necessary if I added extra vegetables so I added creamed collard greens and spinach from another favorite recipe.  Here’s what I did…

I took the first recipe and cut up 2 pieces of bacon and cooked in a pan until crisp.  Removed the pieces and set aside in the glass pie dish.

Next I thinly sliced a sweet onion, leaving the pieces round and sauted until caramelized.   I added a pinch of dried thyme and balsamic vinegar to deglaze the pan.  I add the onion mix to the bacon.

I added the collard greens and spinach in the warm pan to wilt and cooked down.  I added a splash of heavy cream.  I then added to top of onions and bacon and smoothed over pan.

I whipped 6 eggs and a 1/4 cup of milk in a bowl and poured over bacon and vegetables.  I placed the pan in a preheated 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes or until eggs are firm.  Take out and let cool.  I stored mine in fridge and reheated the next morning for a wonderful breakfast dish.

I have made a lot of egg/quiche dishes but my husband said this one was the best.  It was full of flavor and not heavy on crust, cheese or fat. I love the mash up! 

     

Leave a Reply

